Ātmaśatakam Courtesy by Swami Viditatmananda Saraswathi Ji Verse – 6

wallpaper-statue-lord-shiva-rishikesh

अहं निर्विकल्पो निराकाररूपो
विभुत्वाच्च सर्वत्र सर्वेन्द्रियाणाम्
चासङ्गतं नैव मुक्तिर्न मेयः
चिदानन्दरूपः शिवोऽहम् शिवोऽहम् ॥६॥

I am free of thoughts, and free of forms. I am connected to all sense organs as I pervade everything and am everywhere. I am ever changeless. There is no freedom or bondage in me. I am of the nature of consciousness and limitlessness. I am Śiva, the auspicious. I am Śiva, the supreme happiness.

All the earlier verses describe what I am not. The last verse states what I am. Aham nirvikalpah. There is no vikalpa in me. Vikalpa may mean thoughts or duality. How many I-s are there? There are millions of minds and bodies, but only one awareness that illuminates them all. Just as there are countless bulbs, but only one electricity, so also, the personalities are many, but the person who is reflected in all these personalities is one. It is
like the reflection of the one sun appearing in the water contained in millions of buckets. The I does not have a form or age; it is not confined to any time or place.

As a matter of fact, it is not even right to say that the body is different from me even though we said that I am not the body, I am not the mind, I am not the sense organs, etc. Are there are two entities, the I and the non-I? Are the self and the non-self two distinct entities? If they are, there is vikalpa or duality. In fact this body-mind complex or the whole universe are also not different from me. I am different from them, but they are not different from me. There is no duality between the ātmā and the anātmā.

Nirākārarūpah. Nirākāra means formless. I am formless and do not have any attributes at all. I have no quality; I have no characteristics.

Vibhuh. I am all-pervasive.

Vyāpya sarvatra. I obtain everywhere.

Sarvendriyānām means in and through all the sense organs. The sense organs are different from one another, but there is one ‘I’ that informs them all.

Sadā me samatvam. I am ever the same, ever changeless.

Na muktirna bandhah. There is no bondage or liberation in me. I was never bound,and hence, there is no question of liberation for me.

Cidānandarūpah śivo’ham śivo’ham.

Aum __/\__

Leave a comment